In partnership with:
sunday times

Constituency Profile


Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Current MSP : David Whitton
Current Party :
Majority 2007(%) : 9.26

2007 Results:

  Candidate Votes % % change from '03
David Whitton1139631.14+1.28
Dr Robin Easton800821.88+8.17
Dr Jean Turner 674218.42-12.68
Stephanie Fraser517814.15+2.82
Cllr Cathy McInnes465812.73-1.28


Swing req for SNP gain 4.6290%
SNP winability* 17
Swing req for CON gain 8.4957%
CON winability* 12
Swing req for LIB gain 9.2062%
LIB winability* 9
* This is the rank of each seat according to marginality by party

Strathkelvin and Bearsden Candidate Profiles

David Whitton

Former journalist and advisor to Donald Dewar, Whitton is best placed to take this seat if Jean Turner who won it as an Independent in 2003 steps down. Since Dewar's death Whitton has been employed in public relations and continues to be a very well known face within Scottish Labour. 

Dr Robin Easton

Prior to his retirement, Dr. Easton was Rector of the High School of Glasgow. He was also appointed as a Doctor of Glasgow University and received an OBE for services to education.

Dr Jean Turner

Voted in as a result of widespread anger at the closure of Glasgow hospitals, Jean Turner was initially understood to only be standing for one term.  However, recently she has hinted that she may well stand again in 2007.

Stephanie Fraser

A strong supporter of David Cameron, Ms. Fraser credits him as her inspiration to stand for election in Strathkelvin and Bearsden. Stephanie Fraser currently works as head of development at Scottish Ballet. 

Cllr Cathy McInnes

Currently Cathy is the Deputy Provost of East Dunbartonshire Council and  a local councillor for West Kirkintilloch & Torrance. 

Constituency Comments

Let everyone know how the party campaigns are going locally. Using the form below you can add your comments about the candidates, their chances of election and how well they are campaigning on the ground.


(will not be published) (required)



Posted Comments




+ 44 141 333 0557
+ 44 131 556 6649
+ 44 1224 806600
+ 44 1463 716739